The Media Architecture Awards are given to outstanding projects at the intersection of architecture, media and interaction design. Three projects are nominated in each of the five categories:

  • Animated Architecture: Projects demonstrating creative media facades solutions
  • Money Architecture: Projects illuminating buildings that are closely related to business, banks, shopping centres, and entertainment.
  • Participatory Architecture and Urban Interaction: Interactive media projects that enable local city development from a bottom up perspective.
  • Spatial Media Art and Future Trends and Prototypes: Projects produced in an artistic context at the intersection of architecture and media art, mostly non-permanent movable installations with an innovative form of spatial interaction and/or perception of space.
  • Future Trends and Prototypes: Special solutions like three-dimensional displays, kinetic facades, OLEDs or even robotic elements that could shed light on what future media architectures might look like.
The winners in each category will be announced during the award ceremony on the evening of June 3rd, 2016.

Award Ceremony

The Award Ceremony will take place during the MAB16 Gala Dinner on board of the Sydney Starship. The cruise will leave at 6.30pm from Darling Harbour, King Street Wharf 4.

The program for the evening includes:

Boarding the Starship 6.30pm
Harbour cruise and networking 6.30pm - 7.30pm
Dinner on board of the Starship 7.30pm - 9.00pm
Award ceremony on board of the Starship 9.00pm - 10.30pm
Arriving at Darling Harbour 10.30pm

Speakers:Tac Lion.


We present the nominees for the 2016 awards in the following categories: Animated Architecture, Money Architecture, Participatory Architecture & Urban Interaction, Spatial Media Art, Future Trends & Prototypes.

This page will be updated with the MAB16 award winners once they are announced. In the mean time, you can view the MAB14 award nominees and winners.

Animated Architecture

Money Architecture

Participatory Architecture & Urban Interaction

Spatial media art

Future trends & prototypes

Call for exhibition & awards entries

We are pleased to announce the third call of the Media Architecture Biennale awards for outstanding projects at the intersection of architecture, media and interaction design.

This call targets projects that are already built or realised in the following categories:

  • Animated architecture
  • Money architecture
  • Participatory architecture & urban interaction
  • Spatial media art
  • Future trends & prototypes
Please note also that this is NOT a call for art installations to be exhibited at the Media Architecture Biennale.


Submissions for the 2016 exhibition have now closed.

For further details please download the application form PDF.

Completed applications should be sent to [email protected] by March 15th, 2016, 11:59pm PST.

Awards chair

[email protected]

  • Gernot Tscherteu